United Way of the Southern Tier welcomes new board officers, directors

July 29, 2020:

United Way of the Southern Tier’s Board of Directors recently approved a new slate of officers for the nonprofit organization that supports programs for children, families and senior citizens in Chemung and Steuben counties.

Arne Feyling, vice president McWane Inc./Kennedy Valve/MPI/Kennedy Valve Hebei/Waterman Valve, will become board chair. He takes the place of Hillary Austin, Elmira City School District superintendent, whose two-year term as chair is ending. Austin will continue to serve as United Way of the Southern Tier board member and on the United Way Executive Committee. Corning Incorporated Executive Vice President and Innovation Officer Marty Curran becomes board chair-elect.

Lou DiFabio, executive vice president at Chemung Canal Trust Company, will remain as board secretary. James Flaws, Corning Incorporated CFO emeritus, remains as board treasurer.

Five community leaders are joining the board of directors. They are: Josh Bezio of HUNT Engineers, Architects & Surveyors; Bill Dutridge of Corelle Brands; Aaron Justice of Eaton Corporation; Jolie McCarthy of Socha Financial Group, and Avery H. (Hal) Nelson III of Corning Incorporated.

Two volunteers are leaving the board as their terms have expired – Ernie Hartman of IBEW Local 139 and Frank Vassallo of Chemung Canal Trust Company.

“United Way of the Southern Tier is grateful to Ernie Hartman and Frank Vassallo for their energy and commitment to improving the lives of every person in our community,” said Stephen M. Hughes, president and CEO of United Way of the Southern Tier. 

A complete list of board members is here.